streaks across my psychedelic sky

An Exciting Two Weeks

Posted on: October 10, 2005

The last two weeks have been pretty exciting for me. I received an invitation for an interview from a Manila-based executive headhunter and it started the ball rolling for offers to come my way. It is always true what they say: When it rains, it pours. And it has for me, not just in my career but in my personal life as well.

I had two interviews for group head, operations manager/senior project manager from two separate big BPO companies in Manila. Both are American-owned and provide an opportunity for travel and an attractive salary and benefits package. But more than that, I look forward to the training, the challenge of learning and doing something new.

I had to steel myself and try to focus on work as I had to think and really consider the offers and the prospect of working in Manila. As if a heaven-sent, a friend from college got online and we chatted about how business was now flat in Cebu and how it would be a very good career move to go work in Manila. I don't know what it is about working in Manila that just turns me off. But after considering everything, I am leaning toward accepting the offer and really trying it there. I can hit two birds with one stone: live on my own; advance in my career.

But the decision to go also has its cons: living in Manila means having to deal with the ugliness that comes with being right smack in such a progressive, fast-paced place; working the graveyard shift which I have said, repeatedly, I would never sign up for. I now know what they say about never saying never.

Oh well… I could be getting ahead of myself. After all, I haven't received any calls saying they want me on board, anyways. Until then, I will keep my options open and think really hard about staying put or moving on.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
October 2005
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
