streaks across my psychedelic sky

The Sin of Waiting

Posted on: December 3, 2005

So the day became one of waiting, which was, he knew, a sin: moments were to be experienced; waiting was a sin against both the time that was still to come and the moments one was currentlly disregarding. Still, he was waiting.

— Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, p. 152

Waiting was a sin against both the time that was still to come and the moments one was currently disregarding.
After I read this I had to pause. Why did it make such an impact on me? Because right now I feel like I am in a waiting lounge, waiting for my life, or the kind of life I want to have, start to happen. I am tired of taking the bull by the horns. I want to take a breather. I have started doing that since two weeks back but right now, there's an ugly debate raging in my head: take charge and wait no more or sit back and take a moment to smell the roses.

Still, he was waiting.
It may be a sin but I figure, what the heck, life happens anyway, no matter what you do. I might as well take a little time to sit and wait, weigh my options, think things through. But this attitude of being cautious and guarded (C, if you are reading this, please don't pull at your hair in exasperation ) is something I cannot just change even if I wanted to. I am trying, though. Oh, how I am trying

~~~~~

Currently reading: The Eye of the World, Robert Jordan
Currently feeling: contemplative

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
December 2005
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
