streaks across my psychedelic sky

Missing Home

Posted on: January 8, 2006

I miss home. The smell, feel, look, sound of familiarity that I have grown accustomed to for I don't know how long. Although the setting has changed somewhat as to room arrangement, it is still a familiar kind of strangeness. Making my own home was my choice. I don't regret it for a second. If anything, it has made me look forward to my visits; for the opportunity to chat with family, to catch up and swap stories.

Since I moved out about three weeks ago, I have spent every weekend at my parents' house: (1) to spend New Year's Eve with them; (2) to do laundry (I won't do laundry at my place yet as there is no washing machine with a spin dryer. Yeah, I have grown accustomed to that, too); (3) to check personal email and surf for things not related to the office (yes, I am that paranoid about it being logged to the server and IT/Admin finding out). As time goes by, these visits will lessen, but it will nonetheless assuage the feeling of missing home. I am finding that it is a good feeling. Sometimes.

Currently listening to: the chirping of the birds outside my brother's window
Currently reading: ldslibrary.com
Currently watching: cable!!!
Currently feeling: mixed emotions

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
