streaks across my psychedelic sky

The Art of Listening

Posted on: April 24, 2006

I was set on spending the weekend alone at home, either to read my books or watch dvds because I didn't feel like talking to anyone. The events of the past few days have left me emotionally drained. When I called home because I wanted to speak to my mom, I got my brother instead because mom was out with my aunts and uncles. He and I got to talking. When he suggested we meet for lunch, I didn't hesitate. I have missed him. The last time we were together was on my birthday, about a month and 5 days ago.

I am thankful for my brother for listening to me. I have lost count how many times I have confided in him and he gives me what I need the most: a listening ear. He doesn't judge me nor does he try and give me advice because he thinks I want to hear a solution. I don't need to say a lot or explain myself until I am blue in the face. He listens and he hears. Maybe I did need someone to talk to and spend time with. I think deep inside I knew it had to be him.

After all that walking, my legs were screaming for rest but I enjoyed our time together; and for the opportunity to unburden myself and catch up with what has been happening with me and with him.


Currently listening to: Teardrop, Massive Attack
Currently feeling: a little bit better than this morning
Currently missing: my Muse

5 Responses to "The Art of Listening"

You know what, you're brother's not gonna be around forever, if you need someone to listen to you, get married. Just make sure the guy REALLY listens and not just pretending. 😉

Hmm… wise words from the marriage guru? Joanne must be happy to have your ears then. 😛

Well, I think my brother's going to be there no matter what. The love between siblings won't change. At least that is what I believe and hope for my brother and I.

I may have found the guy who will really listen to me. I just need to work on something first so he won't get away from me. Wish me luck! 🙂

i agree!!! go get a husband hehehe

You're one to talk. 😛 Didn't we say you first before me? 😉 Miss ya, girl. Blog away!

you’re selfish if you intend to keep your brother beside you forever. he has his own life, ya know! 😛

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
April 2006
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
