streaks across my psychedelic sky

I Forget

Posted on: June 7, 2006

  • … my own concerns when I see someone else smile and tell me about their day: The happiness in their eyes, the emotions that flit across their face as they relate each and every story, the care with which they choose their words when talking about certain people.
  • … the tiredness I feel after a hard day's work when I look at the bounty on the table and think about the hard work that went into preparing the feast. I work hard, yes. But it seems someone else put more effort in the day. I am humbled by the sacrifice and dedication.
  • … how easy it is to let go. That is just stubborn me, I guess. No.. I know. Brain rewire in progress. Disturb at your own risk.
  • … to guard my heart and allow myself to feel love, anger, pain, frustration, hope, despair, bliss, disappointment. But if I don't allow myself to feel, how can I say I am truly alive?

These are just some things I forget in light of the struggle to exist. They are reminders that there is a universe outside my own microcosm. It is this that puts a smile on my face. The saying "Some things are better left forgotten" is given credence.

and god help you if you are an ugly girl
course too pretty is also your doom
cause everyone harbors a secret hatred
for the prettiest girl in the room
and god help you if you are a phoenix
and you dare to rise up from the ash
a thousand eyes will smolder with jealousy
while you are just flying back
~ 32 flavors, ani difranco

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
