streaks across my psychedelic sky

Blunt on Hi5

Posted on: June 12, 2006

Today is the 108th Philippine Independence Day. Holiday for the rest of the nation except for employees of outsourcing companies. Boo! A day at the office on a holiday is b-o-r-i-n-g. Last night, I checked what’s new at Hi5 and I wasn’t disappointed. Hi5 now has Music! The first artist I “found” is no other than James Blunt. This Brit just ropes you in with his voice. I got hooked on You’re Beautiful the first time I heard it. I’ve had the chance to listen to Tears and Rain and Cry through his Hi5 Music profile. I like the raw emotion in James’ voice in these two songs. Now to listen to the rest of the songs on the album.

A little trivia about the artist: James Blunt isn’t one of those guys who finished school and set off to become a musician. The one time British army captain (and latest in a long line of Blunts in the armed forces) served stints as a peacekeeper in Kosovo and guard at Buckingham Palace before hanging up his uniform. His days of carrying a gun behind him, Blunt quickly began turning heads with his soaring vocals and stirring songs. His debut album, Back to Bedlam, has earned widespread praise.

~ ~ ~

You’re Beautiful
My life is brilliant.
My love is pure.
I saw an angel.
Of that I’m sure.
She smiled at me on the subway.
She was with another man.
But I won’t lose no sleep on that,
‘Cause I’ve got a plan.
You’re beautiful. You’re beautiful.
You’re beautiful, it’s true.
I saw your face in a crowded place,
And I don’t know what to do,
‘Cause I’ll never be with you.

Tears and Rain
How I wish I could surrender my soul;
Shed the clothes that become my skin;
See the liar that burns within my needing.
How I wish I’d chosen darkness from cold.
How I wish I had screamed out loud,
Instead I’ve found no meaning.
I guess it’s time I run far, far away; find comfort in pain,
All pleasure’s the same: it just keeps me from trouble.
Hides my true shape, like Dorian Gray.
I’ve heard what they say, but I’m not here for trouble.
It’s more than just words: it’s just tears and rain.

Cry
I have seen peace. I have seen pain,
Resting on the shoulders of your name.
Do you see the truth through all their lies?
Do you see the world through troubled eyes?
And if you want to talk about it anymore,
Lie here on the floor and cry on my shoulder,
I’m a friend.
I have seen birth. I have seen death.
Lived to see a lover’s final breath.
Do you see my guilt? Should I feel fright?
Is the fire of hesitation burning bright?
And if you want to talk about it once again,
On you I depend. I’ll cry on your shoulder.
You’re a friend.

7 Responses to "Blunt on Hi5"

hi fay! i don’t know where to leave a message, i hope it’s okay here šŸ™‚

actually, i discontinued the blogcebucity thingy, got tired of that blog, hehe šŸ˜‰

nope, don’t have a personal blog pa for the moment šŸ™‚

will let you know if i have a new one šŸ™‚

your poems are really nice šŸ™‚

got to go, bye šŸ™‚

The domestic exploitation of cheap, illegal labor from Mexico; the international exploitation of cheap, all-too-often unethical labor markets from the third world – corporate greed has insured the American middle class has seen its last generation. My only hope of prosperous employment is teaching foreigner’s the international language of business šŸ˜›

Hey Val šŸ™‚ Yep, it’s ok to leave a message here. Thanks for dropping by, leaving a note and for the compliment. šŸ˜‰

Whoa, Andrew… Where’d this come from? lol

You and your outsourcing company šŸ˜›

bwahahahaha!!!

Err… G finds Andrew’s lament funny? Or my obvious lack of understanding totally obnoxious? hehehe šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,706 hits
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
