streaks across my psychedelic sky

Friends Always

Posted on: June 23, 2006

Last night, I had dinner with childhood friends Irene and Sharon and their spouses. Sharon, now working and living in Guam with husband, Eric, and son, Joshua, is here for a few days and will be heading to Bacolod by the weekend. We had dinner at Spice Fusion. It was a night of good conversation, a lot of catching up and shared glimpses of the past, present and the near future. Irene always calls me and another friend, Zara, as Inglesera, and this made me a little self-conscious, which only tickled Irene pink. Before long, though, I was able to carry a decent conversation in Ilonggo. I surprised myself there; it has been a long while since I was able to do that. The whole evening's conversation was a good mix of Cebuano, Hiligaynon and English.

At gatherings, when talk turns to politics or religion, I would normally excuse myself or tune out if I don't have a choice. It is not because I don't want to know what they have to say. It has more to do with me not wanting to get into a debate that could turn ugly. But last night, I didn't do either when the talk veered toward religion. I was happy to learn that my friends are active members of their churches: Irene and Mark are leaders for their cell group; Eric is going to be a pastor in Guam. There was a second or two when everybody froze, their spoons midway from the plate to its ultimate destination, when I told them I was no longer Catholic, too. But after that split-second moment, it was something that we talked about sans judgment. It was the kind of reaction I got from my family and the true friends who know me. Eric talked at length about how it was always good to seek the truth but to keep in mind the standard by which we sift information.

I am happy my dear friends married men with good character, a moral compass, and who are constantly striving to better themselves, their personal lives and that of their families. Before we all said our goodbyes, we talked a little bit about other friends living in Bacolod and how they are doing. I hope I can go visit this October, in time for Masskara. Irene reminded me that my godson, her little Macky, turns 4 on July 15. My, how time does fly! But with friends for life such as these two gorgeous gals, it will always be a fun and memorable one.

Irene, me, Sharon

Mark, Irene, me, Sharon, Joshua, Eric

1 Response to "Friends Always"

Hmm… are you trying to lay a guilt trip on me or something? 😛

Hmm… something like that. lol 😛

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
