streaks across my psychedelic sky

Month for goodbyes

Posted on: August 25, 2008

August turns out to be the month for goodbyes at the office. I know of four. Not counting the ones that I know nothing about, that is already quite a number. Could it be something in the air, the water, the atmosphere, the stress, better offers, clash in personalities, all or a combination of one or a few of these? I can only gander a guess. But I sometimes wish that I were in this same situation. It is always exciting and challenging when you are in the cusp of something new. The thrill of the unknown, the anticipation of the adventure. Most people may not share my love for change. And it isn’t often that I feel this way. But when it comes to work opportunities, career path or loving what you do, I always feel that I could be doing more or something else somewhere. Work gets pretty old pretty fast for me. I need a challenge: one that involves learning something new, that feeling of a certain degree of pleasure, contentment and knowledge that my work made a difference in some small part toward making the universe a better place for someone or a group of someones. I guess I haven’t found my ultimate calling. Or if it has been staring me in the face, I haven’t paid it much attention. Or maybe I am just feeling a wee bit nostalgic for that feeling of anticipation when embarking toward unchartered territory. Whatever it is, August remains to be the month that has the most number of people I know who stayed a while but are only too happy to be moving on. I wish them all the best.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
