streaks across my psychedelic sky

dig deeper and discover Ichthys

Posted on: December 3, 2008

I thought I saw the Pisces sign on one of Jopie’s Facebook albums. When she asked me about it, I had second thoughts and looked it up. Sure enough, it was not the symbol of the twelfth sign of the western zodiac, but the Ichthys or Ichthus, the ancient and classical Greek word for fish, which the early Christians used as a symbol for identification. More popularly known as the Christian fish or the Jesus fish, it consists of two intersecting arcs tracing the outline of a fish (most commonly with the fish “swimming” to the left).


It is a little known fact to me that the Ichthus as a Christian symbol is an acronym for “Jesus Christ, God’s Son, Savior” in ancient Greek.


I was born under the sign of Pisces and have always had a thing for fish pendants and fish designs. But now that I have discovered the Ichthus, I have a better reason, if you can call it that, for choosing to wear the symbol. (I also like butterflies, but that is another post.)

For comparison, since I already mentioned it, here are the (overlapping) symbols of Pisces:



And now that I know that I was at least half-right about the symbol I spotted on the photo, I can now sleep.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 18,705 hits
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
